2017 – Bring it on!

The start of a new year is the time to regroup, right? A time to start fresh and to lay the ground work. So here we go! Laying groundwork for 2017…

I’m really not a fan of New Year’s Eve; I think it’s a lot of hype for a whole lot of nothing which makes me even more excited to be able to celebrate our anniversary at the beginning of each year instead of focusing on NYE! I don’t like resolutions either, but I’m a big fan of words (which probably doesn’t come as much of a surprise), so for the past few years I’ve chosen a word that I want to embrace for the coming year. This year is no different in that sense, but when thinking about my word for 2017 my mentality had to be a bit different… I thought it’d be hard to think about a word that would transcend my work, my friendships, my family, and now my MARRIAGE, but to be honest it was much simpler than I expected.

Grace.

Grace toward myself. Grace toward Carter. Toward my family, my friends, my co-workers, the barista at Starbucks, the sales-woman at Nordstrom, everyone. I’ve always struggled with being too hard on myself and I’ve finally wrapped my mind around the fact that if God gives us grace on a daily basis, then I should be able to give grace to myself, too. Easier said than done, but my goal is to remind myself daily that no one is perfect and that’s OKAY. Carter’s word for the year is ‘patience’ and I think it’ll be great for us to start our marriage focusing on grace and patience!

Our year started better than we ever expected (thank you, wedding and honeymoon!!!) and I can’t wait to see what the rest of the year holds!

XO, SPS

Leave a Reply

