Friday Favorites

Today I’m taking a nod from Mix and Match Mama and participating in Friday Favorites! Really easy – what are your favorite things this week?

onefullsizerender-9My mom gave me this canvas on our wedding day and I finally hung it up on our wall. I love every single thing about it. “The Art of Marriage – A good marriage must be created. In marriage, the little things are the big things. It is never being too old to hold hands. It is remembering to say ‘I love you’ at the end of each day. It is never going to bed angry. It is speaking words of appreciation and demonstrating gratitude in thoughtful ways. It is having the capacity to forgive and forget. It is giving each other a safe place to grow. It is not only marrying the right person… it is being the right partner. – Wilferd Arlan Peterson”

two

upscale-downhomeUpscale Downhome: Family Recipes, All Gussied Up by Rachel Hollis – I LOVE IT. Since we got married, we’ve tried to be really good about eating at home. Turns out that my parents have been right all along and not eating in restaurants is actually an easy way to save money (who would’ve thought?!). This cookbook is full of delicious family favorites and it’s so easy to follow along. We had some friends over for dinner and I made guacamole, tamale casserole (bottom left of the front cover), and margarita punch and everyone loved it all! Best part about this cookbook? There’s a section for leftovers. YES. She gives you new recipes to make from the leftovers that you have from other sections of the book – BRILLIANT.

three

stress-awayFor Christmas, my parents got me an essential oil diffuser with 10 different oils. Moral of the story – Carter and I are obsessed with these things. Seriously, they’re so great. We may or may not have bought a second diffuser so that we could have one in the living room/kitchen and one in our bedroom… This week at work has been super crazy and Stress Away has been my saving grace. I always thought that essential oils were some weird hippy thing, but I promise you this works. About 5 minutes after I turn on the diffuser I can honestly tell a difference. I’m not even going to try to figure out how/why it works, I’m just going to trying different things!

four

Ice cream. No further explanation needed.

five

tea-kettleMy new tea kettle! When we were registering for our wedding I remember thinking “why would anyone register for a tea kettle???” but then I saw this beauty and I changed my mind instantly. I’ll admit that I just wanted it because it’s my favorite color and it says “Whistle While You Work” (which I think is the cutest detail EVER – cheers to you, Kate Spade, for having a great design team), but now that I have it I’m in LOVE! I’ve been trying to drink less caffeine lately, so tea is my new go-to. It’s so easy to fill it and wait for the water to heat up while I’m getting ready in the morning or cleaning up the kitchen after dinner. Also, it’s the most low maintenance kitchen appliance you could possibly own in regard to clean up so that automatically makes me love it.

Have a great weekend!!

XO, SPS

3 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

  1. Shelby Coats says:

    I recently got a diffuser and ended up getting a second one for my desk at work lol! My husband and I are obsessed with it as well. We have a cool mist humidifer in our bedroom that we run while we sleep every night and it actually doubles as a diffuser, too. So I completely get it lol. We used to think they were hippie-ish too but we can definitely tell a difference after using them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

