February Book Review

Beginning of the month means it’s time for a book review! This month had a little bit of everything…

four-seasons-in-rome

Four Seasons in Rome by Anthony Doerr

2017 Reading Challenge – “A juicy memoir”

This memoir depicts the year that Anthony Doerr and his family spent living in Rome. Doerr was awarded the Rome Prize on the day that his wife gave birth to twins. The Rome Prize allowed Doerr to spend a year in Rome while working on his next piece of work (which just so happened to be the Pulitzer Prize winning “All The Light We Cannot See”), so when the twins were 6 months old he and his family moved to Rome from Boise, Idaho. This book talked about the experiences they had as new parents in a foreign country during one of Italy’s biggest historical moments – the death of Pope John Paul II. I loved this book, but I think I loved it because I knew what Doerr was talking about when he spoke about the different piazzas that they frequented, the small Italian villages they visited, and special foods they tried. If I hadn’t lived in Rome, I don’t know if I would’ve liked it. That said, if you’re familiar with Rome, you’ll love this!!

celebrations

Celebrations by Danielle Walker

Am I the only one who likes reading cookbooks? I love them. I love the introduction that explains the ‘why’ of the book and helps you understand the author. This cookbook is so wonderful. Danielle Walker suffers from an extreme autoimmune disease and after years of hospital stays she concluded that her diet was a main cause of her symptoms. Therefore, she created Against All Grain and has written three cookbooks full of grain-free and dairy-free recipes. Celebrations is all about the meals that you eat surrounding different events throughout the year. There’s a chapter for Christmas, Easter, Mother’s Day, 4th of July, Baby Showers, etc, etc… It’s great! Danielle includes holiday favorites, too, that she has adapted to be grain- and dairy-free including creamed spinach, cornbread, and cinnamon rolls (to name a few)!

the-color-purple

The Color Purple by Alice Walker

2017 Reading Challenge – “A book by an #ownvoices or #diversebooks author”

I high high hopes for this book because I love the soundtrack from the musical but I really didn’t like it. The Color Purple follows the life of a black woman, Celie, and her sister, Nettie. They’re separated as young women and they write letters back and forth to one another. I thought it was so boring and I actually found it hard to read. The author writes in a way that emphasizes the dialect of uneducated slaves and it made it a bit challenging to follow along. For example, one sentence read “…member when yous knock his toof out da mouf?” This writing style definitely helps you to understand the characters and their background, but I found it distracting. I didn’t think there was much of a plot, but instead it was a compilation of short stories. Wish I could recommend this, but I can’t…

112263

11/22/63 by Stephen King

2017 Reading Challenge – “A book that’s more than 600 pages”

Okay. This book is a monster. An 849 page monster, to be exact. I’m only 253 pages into it, so this isn’t a review quite yet… I just need to document how long it takes me to read this 🙂   Stephen King writes so deeply and descriptively, I need to take some breaks – hence the fact that I read other books last month instead of finishing this! That said, this is a great novel thus far!

 

What are your best book recommendations? Send them my way, please!!

XO, SPS

Leave a Reply

