March & April Book Review

Well, I totally forgot about a book review last month (oops)… Here’s a reading update to get us caught up!

Present Over Perfect

Present Over Perfect by Shauna Niequest

I read this in March and I really have no idea how I forgot to write a review because this is truly one of the best book I’ve ever read. Ever. I loved it. This book walks through Shauna Niequest’s decision to be present in her life instead of forcing everything to be perfect. She’s insightful, vulnerable, and brutally honest. I caught myself rereading certain paragraphs (and chapters!) over and over again. It made me laugh and it made me cry, but more than anything, it made me really think about how I allow control and approval to dictate my life. So much of this book is highlighted and underlined with notes scribbled in the margins – writing about this even makes me want to read it again! I will recommend this book a thousand times over and will definitely be thinking about it for a long, long time. I really can’t put into words how much I loved it!

Fried Green Tomatoes

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg

2017 Reading Challenge – “A book about a topic or subject you already love”

A book about something I love aka a book about food. I’ve always been told that I was crazy for never having seen the movie “Fried Green Tomatoes”, so when I found out that it was a book, I thought it would be a great place to start! This was very different than I expected it to be, but I liked it. Didn’t love it, but glad I read it. I thought it would be much more of a continuous story but instead it was different ‘entries’ – old newspaper articles, current day stories, the retelling of life events, etc. Also, I read this because I thought it would be about food and, of course, it has nothing to do with food 🙂

Everything I Never Told You

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

2017 Reading Challenge – “A book with an unreliable narrator or ambiguous ending”

When I bought it, I didn’t know anything about this book. It had been recommended on “What Should I Read Next” and for some reason I wrote down the title, so I must’ve been intrigued! The book opens with the sentence “Lydia is dead, but they don’t know that yet.” so I was immediately hooked. Set in the 1970s, this novel focuses on family dynamics and slowly unravels what truly happened to Lydia. This might be the most ‘real’ fictional book I’ve ever read; it’s full of truth and could easily be a story that you hear from friends in your neighborhood. There were times when I found myself upset or frustrated with characters (not normal for me) and I think it’s because of how relatable the story is. The characters seemed much more like real people than I’m used to finding which was a pleasant surprise! I’m so glad I didn’t know anything about this before I started reading it – I’d highly recommend going in unknowing!!

11226311/22/63 by Stephen King

2017 Reading Challenge – “A book that’s more than 600 pages”

Update: None.

Pages read: None.

……..clearly this is going well.

 

 

Any recommendations for May reading? Send them over, please!

XO, SPS

Leave a Reply

